Mariska Hargitay Online
- -


Mariska returns for her eleventh season as Olivia Benson, the ambitious and emotionally driven detective on Wolf Films/NBC Universal Television’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit.

The role has earned her an Emmy Award, Golden Globe Award, Gracie Allen Award from The Foundation of American Women in Radio and Television, along with five Emmy nominations, three SAG nominations, and two Golden Globe nominations.

“As a woman, it’s gratifying to play such a multilayered part. Olivia is not only a competent, street-smart cop, she’s also an empathetic woman who can respond emotionally to victims of terrible crimes without compromising her professionalism.”

Hargitay is also known to NBC viewers for her recurring role on ER as Dr. Greene’s (Anthony Edwards) girlfriend Cynthia Hooper in the 1997-98 season of the top-rated show.

She also gained notice as a cast regular in the sitcom Can’t Hurry Love with Nancy McKeon and Louis Mandylor. Additional television credits include guest roles on NBC’s Seinfeld, Ellen and thirtysomething, and starring roles on Falcon Crest and Prince Street. Hargitay was also seen in the telefilms The Advocate’s Devil and Night Sins, as well as the Lifetime movie Plain Truth.

Her film credits include the thriller Lake Placid written by David E. Kelley and starring Bridget Fonda, the critically acclaimed Leaving Las Vegas, David Lynch’s Hotel Room, Bob Fosse’s Star 80, abd Michael Rymer’s Perfume.

Born and raised in Los Angeles, Hargitay is the youngest daughter of screen legend Jayne Mansfield and Mickey Hargitay. She divides her time between New York and Los Angeles. The UCLA graduate speaks Hungarian, French and Italian.

Hargitay is married to actor Peter Hermann, who starred in the Universal/Working Title’s United 93, and who has a recurring role on SVU as attorney Trevor Langan. The couple has a son, August Miklos Friedrich Hermann.

Law & Order: Special Victims Unit is a Wolf Films production in association with NBC Universal Television and airs Tuesdays at 10 p.m. ET/PT on NBC. Dick Wolf, Ted Kotcheff, Neal Baer and Peter Jankowski are executive producers; Patrick Harbinson, Arthur Forney, Robert Nathan, Dawn DeNoon, Jonathan Greene and Amanda Green are co-executive producers.